Yoga pants and hoodies. Who knew?

For the second time already in this new year the possibility of being fined for the kinds of clothes I wear was proposed in the US.

About to leave home this morning to run errands wearing the leggings I still had on from working out, I was stunned by a teaser on the TODAY show: a Montana legislator had introduced a bill to ban yoga pants to strengthen the state’s indecent exposure law. Too tight and revealing, he said.

The idea that at 67 I could be too sexy to be in public made me laugh out loud. If my t-shirt didn’t cover my butt, the hooded sweatshirt over it certainly did.

That’s the other thing that could have gotten me arrested. In Oklahoma. If a bill to ban hoodies introduced there in early January had made it. That proposed legislation was to reinforce an existing law forbidding wearing a mask, hood or covering to conceal one’s identity during a crime.

Thank heavens more reasonable lawmakers prevailed in both cases! Scary to think if they had not.

Actually, I don’t own yoga pants and had assumed they are like leggings. Thanks to Google, I now know that the basic difference is that most yoga pants have a foldover at the top and flair at the bottom and that, generally, leggings are tighter all over.

Yikes! That’s even worse. What a hussy I was going to Target like that! Ha!

yoga pants difference

All right, here’s a photo I don’t show people—not so much because it could have been incriminating but because I don’t like it My boyfriend called this picture “cute as punch” but I think it’s ugly as hell. All I was trying to do was to keep from freezing while glacier viewing on a cruise ship, but had that hoodie bill become a law that passed across the nation, I would have been breaking the law in Alaska. (Photo processed in Picasa in an attempt to make it less hideous and recognizable!)

AK Sept 2014 Glacier Bay Margerie Glacier 3 - Copy

At Christmas, I would have been a coast-to-coast offender for buying Pittsburgh Steelers hoodies for my son and grandson in Pennsylvania and a San Diego Chargers  hoodie for my son in California. And I suppose that would have made my brother, a sporting goods salesman, a criminal for selling them.

A friend traditionally gives commemorative hoodies to her family and friends who participate in an annual event. Oh boy, she would likely have been in more trouble than her giftees who dared to wear them!

While banning hoodies and yoga pants is ridiculous, I agree that clothing can be a question of taste, decency, etiquette and public safety.

Sagging pants, for instance. Never mind the myriad of connotations. Just how do they keep them up, anyway?

I’ve never quite understood what’s so offensive about wearing a ball cap, or any hat, to the dinner table. Yet it’s considered such bad manners that I can’t help finding it irritating.

And what about those necklines that plunge to the waist that are so stylish these days? I’m far from a prude, or a fuddy duddy, yet I seem to be in the minority in finding that look unattractive. The other day I showed my boyfriend a picture of Jennifer Aniston in a dress with a deep front cut and asked if he likes that style. But of course! He thought she looked great, and sexy. I think it detracted from her beauty.

Coincidentally today when my issue of People’s Awards Season Special arrived, that very picture was on the cover.

yoga USE

I should have Picasa’d that one and said it’s me. Maybe I’m just jealous!

About Lorrie DeFrank

Retired and relishing the time to write about anything concerning people 65 and older, which is everything.
This entry was posted in 65 plus and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Yoga pants and hoodies. Who knew?

  1. Susan says:

    Well, this blog is right up my alley. If you have to go into a bank with your “hood” up, chances are good that you may want to rob the bank!!! Those who have nothing to hide, hide nothing! That said, the robber has ruined a style of clothing for all of us. Also, there is nothing sexy about under boob or side boob or cleaveage so long you can almost see a navel (except in the privacy of your own home). I come from a generation when I was not allowed to wear slacks to school. Even my first several jobs had a “dress code” and everyone knew what was appropriate. We are now a nation of slobs who rarely bath, shave, floss or speak correct ENGLISH. One of your best blogs, Lorrie!!!

    • Thought-provoking comments, Susan. Our generation instilled our values. In the ’60s, girls couldn’t wear slacks to my high school, either. Ten years later, my sons’ babysitter came after school (same school) to our house wearing jeans and a crop top. Things changed fast.

  2. narife@cfl.rr.com says:

    Another good one – I agree with everything but the hats worn at the table – that is one thing that irritates me. Most men would go for the low cut dresses – I still think a little goes a long way. My love, Nancy

    • Because we were raised to believe that wearing a hat to the dinner table is bad manners, it bothers us to see that. Me, too. Seems that rule of etiquette originated from respect, and from keeping dirty, sooty hats away from food. But when you really think about it, it’s just a ball cap and not all that offensive.

  3. Sally Vaughn says:

    I liked your your article very much. Thanks Lorrie. Talk to you soon I hope. Sally

  4. Muphey Shaw says:

    Sorry, Lorrie . . . Jennifer could ware a hoodie and be sexy, that’s just the way it is.

  5. Richard Bowers says:

    I prefer women in skirts, not necessarily short ones, but ones appropriate to whatever the activity is going to be and age appropriate. Plunging necklines are for some, not for others. Before I retired, I did not want my secretary or receptionist in pants, preferred dresses, or skirts and blouses, thought that was more appropriate. But I have found that how other people dress is really none of my business unless I am buying their clothes!!!!!

  6. Richard Bowers says:

    Oh, and one other think, in that picture, I think Jennifer Anniston is hot!

  7. Richard Bowers says:

    and one other thing, a gentleman should never wear a hat in the house or at dinner, or in an elevator or during the national anthem unless they are in uniform.

  8. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Richard. Good comments, particularly ” … unless I am buying their clothes!”

Leave a Reply

