Quarantine reflections: Learning Zoom and other challenges

On what would have been the fourth day of our transatlantic cruise I am giving thanks for good health, counting my blessings and acknowledging what a minor disappointment that cancellation is compared to the suffering of others. We will sail again. For many, the COVID-19 pandemic is tragic.

Through it all, the goodness and creativity of people have been astonishing. On an Easter weekend phone call, my son and I chatted about how folks have been entertaining and helping each other instead of discussing the dreadful statistics. He shared how churches in his area hid balloons for kids to safely spot from cars instead of having egg hunts. We pray the lessons we are learning will stick.

It’s a weird time, for sure.

coronavirus 2nd blog april 2020

For example, I never anticipated doing this for real. Halloween, maybe.

coronavirus 2nd COVID 19 April 2020 2

This quarantine has presented other firsts and trials. Like learning Zoom. If most children are using it for their classrooms, why can’t a few seniors catch on for a virtual happy hour? Our small group muddled through with such punctuations as: “Now I can’t see Harry.” “I can’t hear anyone, but I see you all.” “I give up.”

So the next day my boyfriend and I agreed to review the rules and practice zooming (is that a verb?) from our respective homes.

coronavirus ZOOM Screenshot_2020-04-13-19-14-20

Baffled again. And he had even called his school teacher daughter-in-law for tips. We had finally connected when my grandson called from his Army base in South Korea. As I hurriedly clicked off Zoom and my face disappeared from the screen, I told my boyfriend I would call him after I talked to my grandson.

“Be careful when you think you leave Zoom,” my boyfriend warned when I called him back. “I could hear your whole side of that conversation.” Note to self: Turn off the device after a Zoom visit.

And then, the groceries.

A few months ago I watched the orange pickup structure and directional signs go up in the parking lot of my neighborhood Walmart, never dreaming I would have to compete for a spot the first time I used the service. With people avoiding stores these days, pickup times fill up fast. After a few futile tries, I set my alarm for 5:30 a.m. and scored one for three days later. I had an hour to shop and clicked check out in plenty of time, only to have my credit card rejected again and again. Impossible, I muttered, what’s going on? Eventually I noticed a text from my provider: “Unusual activity on your card at Walmart. Is it you?” “Yes!” “OK, go ahead.” “Sorry, you lost your spot. Try again tomorrow morning,” said Walmart, when my card finally went through. “Only you,” said my boyfriend.

But again, just a minor inconvenience …

Grateful for this safe and convenient service. I will continue to clean my produce like this now that I realize how lax I had been. A change already. 

Coronavirus 2nd blog veggies april 2020

About our cruise …

We observed the would-be departure date with a Stay-at-Home Sail-Away dinner, substituting Bubba Burgers for Princess’ hamburgers, our traditional welcome aboard lunch. My boyfriend set the scene with signs and a special drink. We toasted our good health and good fortune, trusting we will cruise again. We know how lucky we are compared to many others.

coronavirus 2nd sailaway1

This morning Hoda and Jenna talked from separate locations about their family meals, playtimes with children and other cherished family moments … rare during normal times. Yesterday my cousin asked what I think our new normal will be. Hoping for having deep appreciation of loved ones and taking the time to show it.

Meanwhile, heeding this wise man will heal our souls: “No matter what your heartache may be, laughing helps you forget it for a few seconds.” – Red Skelton

 

About Lorrie DeFrank

Retired and relishing the time to write about anything concerning people 65 and older, which is everything.
This entry was posted in 65 plus, Coronavirus, COVID-19, humor, Senior challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Quarantine reflections: Learning Zoom and other challenges

  1. spinnaker04 says:

    Terrific! Stay well – both of you! 💓J

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Susan Geisler says:

    Thank you Lorrie! We did FaceTime last week with my kids and grandkids. One of my grandkids patched in my sister from Arizona. Those kids are so dang smart. I’ve also had a “happy hour” on Zoom with 3 other friends and had the same issues you did……”I hear you, but don’t see you.” HaHa! We finally figured it out. Crazy times for sure! Glad you and Harry are doing good. Stay safe!!

    Love,
    Susan

    • Ha, glad to hear we weren’t the only ones, Susan! Technology is so intuitive for our kids and grandkids. Wonderful that we have all these ways to stay in touch during these times apart, though. Please be safe.

  3. Susan says:

    Oh my goodness; life is just a real treat!!! My silver lining is when I go to a doctor appt now, I have to call when I get to the parking lot; then they let me in the door and I go directly to the appt. Wow, beats sitting in the waiting room. Thank God for Amazon, QVC, and Peapod!!!! What we need is a REAL leader not a bragger; cause right now it’s every man/woman for themselves. Wear your MASK!!!

  4. Spot on – all of it, Susan! Thanks so much for reading and commenting.
    Things surely are different now. I wonder how many things will never be the same again. We are learning so much about what we actually need and how to get it, and, of course, how to be safe. Or attempt to be. I miss the social interaction but like not having to be somewhere all the time. Lots of lessons to learn and reflect on.

  5. Janis Mylod says:

    Well done Lorrie. Totally relatable. Hugs from afar!

  6. Thanks, Janis. Yep, we’re in this together … technology woes and all! 🙂 Hugs back.

  7. marianbeaman says:

    Many are living a version of your life now, but you are WRITING about it, a great thing! The photo of you with the mask is so cute. I like how you are doing ZOOM as well. Like you, I have had some snafus along the way, but have managed to hook up with my Pilates gang, Nocatee writers’ group, and even my grandson playing tuba in this last month.

    Heave ho, so we move forward. Virtual hugs, Lorrie! ((( )))

  8. Ricardo. Bowerz says:

    But why did you steal HS’s razor? And his name is Harry so he has a brand of razors.

    • Well, ‘Ricardo,’ he may have lost it on purpose. That is one advantage of being quarantined … depending on one’s point of view! 🙂

      When I drove to Walmart to pick up my grocery order was the first time I had worn mascara in about a month … and I didn’t even get out of my car!!!

  9. Harry says:

    I noticed, Lorrie!
    Good blog. Glad I am sharing the times with you.

  10. Joan says:

    Lorrie,

    Fun blog! Zoom is the bomb. We have established Zoom happy hours with a couple groups of friends. I have my golf association board meetings on Zoom and Frank and I have our piano lessons via Zoom with Jerry. I ran across an old notebook with some writings that you will relate to and appreciate. Will call soon.

    Luv, Joan

  11. Hi, Joan. Glad you have been connecting with people via Zoom. Good you can continue your piano lessons that way, too. Thank heavens for Zoom and similar apps when folks are separated like this. Looking forward to reading the writings and chatting.Thanks for reading my blog and commenting.

Leave a comment